Skip to content



CC Australia List

Creative Commons is working with Queensland University of Technology (QUT) to create Australia jurisdiction-specific licenses from the generic Creative Commons licenses.

Project Lead: Tom Cochrane (Deputy Vice Chancellor QUT) and Professor Brian Fitzgerald Head of Law School (QUT)

Team Members: Jessica Coates (Project Manager), Elliott Bledsoe, Rachel Cobcroft, Nic Suzor


More about QUT

QUT is one of the largest universities in Australia and possesses strong interest in and commitment to information law and policy. DVC of Information Services Tom Cochrane has long been associated with intellectual property law and policy developments in Australia and been involved with a number of influential government and non-government committees. Professor Brian Fitzgerald has an international reputation in the area of Cyberlaw, Technology and Intellectual Property and heads a Law School that offers a broad range of courses in this area.

QUT is also home to the ARC Centre of Excellence for Creative Industries and Innovation, which funds two research projects closely associated with Creative Commons Australia – the Creative Commons Clinic and the Creative Commons and Open Content Licensing Models project. Both these projects are headed up by Professor Fitzgerald, and seek to investigate and encourage the take up of the Creative Commons and other open content licensing models in Australia and internationally.


The leaders of Creative Commons in Australia would like to thank the following people for their assistance in drafting the licences and their ongoing commitment and involvement with CCau: Ian Oi, Karen Gettens, Delia Browne (Ministerial Council for Employment, Education, Training and Youth Affairs), Neale Hooper (Queensland Treasury), Andrew Garton (Toysatellite), Karen Gettens, Sally Hanson (Arts Law Centre from 2004), Ishtiaque Omar, Sally Hines, Peter Edmundson and Barbara Phair (Blake Dawson Waldron Lawyers).and the following people for their feedback: Peter James, Ben Lehman and Andrew Cameron (Allens Arthur Robinson) and research assistants Sally Hawkins and Nic Suzor.

Posted 12 June 2008